Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Did I really just waste 100 bucks..please give me a hand..... — Parallax Forums

Did I really just waste 100 bucks..please give me a hand.....

doughboydoughboy Posts: 12
edited 2006-10-09 06:48 in BASIC Stamp
Im a first year engineering student and am in a class where we build a baloon satellite, create and experiment for it and then launch it to 100,000 feet.
The so called experiment my group decided to under go was the measuroing of light absorption in the atmosphere. We planned to do this by measuring light intesity in flight to compare them. We figured we could accomplishment this with a BS1 and a superboard for it. Did we mess up?
We have 3 photo diodes with diffrent filters on them to cover most of the light spectrum, not just the visible.
The issue we are having is storing data from these, apparently you can only store variable data in the RAM and not the EEPROM, essentially meaning we cant measure the light intesnsity every 3 minutes of the 1.5 hour flight from each of the three diodes, instead we can only measure "MAYBE" 7 times of data from each sensor assuming we use the minimum amount·as variables and store the data as bits.
My questions are:
Can we add more ram?
Can we workaround the only constants in eeprom?
What other options are there?

The primary issue is funds, we are allocated only 275 for this experiment as well other materials and we had to purchase a digital camera to convert to IR.

Any other tips would be great, I have no idea what im doing pretty much and only programed in basic freshman year in highschool.

Comments

• Ken GraceyKen Gracey Posts: 7,387
    edited 2006-10-04 04:10
    doughboy-

The first tip I would have provided is to not disclose that you're a student. Third time I've ever used an emoticon =>· roll.gif Now we're going to want you to do the work on your own!

The only money you wasted was the rest of the money you didn't spend at Parallax.