Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
SX-Key Error Message: Vpp generation failed. — Parallax Forums

SX-Key Error Message: Vpp generation failed.

wbahnwbahn Posts: 13
edited 2006-10-02 02:35 in General Discussion
I'm brand new to the SX (have some experience, though dated, with PICs).

I tried to program the part (an SX20) with an SX-Key and got the error that the programming voltage couldn't be generated. I did a search for Vpp in the reference manual and didn't get a single hit.

Anyone have any suggestions?

Is there any place where there is a list of error messages and most likely causes/actions?

TIA
·

Comments

• PJMontyPJMonty Posts: 983
    edited 2006-09-26 07:15
    wbahn,

Is the SX20 in a circuit you designed and built, or someone elses? Are you using a resonator, crystal, or TTL oscillator to provide the clock when the SX-Key isn't present?
      Thanks, PeterM
  • T&E EngineerT&E Engineer Posts: 1,396
    edited 2006-09-26 11:08
    You may want to read this thread. The same error came up for me. To summarize: I built my own SX-28 circuit but wired OSC1 and OSC2 from the resonator to OSC2 and OSC1 (respectively) on the SX-28 (basically in reverse).

http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=600788
  • r_nobler_noble Posts: 5
    edited 2006-09-28 14:39
    i had that error only mins ago, and i had my chip in the wrong way
  • wbahnwbahn Posts: 13
    edited 2006-09-30 04:23
    Just got back from out of town.

It's a custom design, but someone that is quite experienced with the SX said my schematics are fine. I'm using a CMOS oscillator (which I can enable/disable with a jumper on the board). The footprint I used had the wrong width (too narrow) and so I had to really bend in the pins to get them onto the pads. My plan was to check it closely for shorts this weekend - and based on what has been said here that sounds like the most likely explanation.

Thanks a lot and I'll report back on what I find.