Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
photodiodes with stamp, misc improvements to Stamp — Parallax Forums

photodiodes with stamp, misc improvements to Stamp

vznvzn Posts: 2
edited 2006-09-26 02:52 in BASIC Stamp
hi all, Im a newbie but am·very·impressed with parallax & the stamp.

I want to use photodiodes with the stamp.

parallax sells a "blue enhanced photodiode" for $10 but they dont
have any info on how to interface it.

http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=350-00012

I see the IR photodetector just hooks in directly to an input port using a 220ohm resistor. would it be ok to do the same with a generic photodiode?

some other things I was considering in my project & noticed

a) no assembly language is possible thru pbasic. I would like to encourage parallax to consider some limited assembly language support in some future version
b) no direct control over interrupts. Id really like to control an interrupt. plz consider support for interrupts in the future.
c) no good support for timing. yet the stamp has a timer, its just off limits to pbasic. Id really like a high-resolution, 16-bit (even 24bit would be nice)·timer/counter for my app.

also, how about

d) would parallax consider open sourcing Pbasic so that outside developers can contribute. I urge them to consider this increasingly mainstream model that is being embraced by Sun wrt to java and also lego mindstorms. could lead to significantly increased interest in Stamp and major improvements in functionality.

·

Comments

• allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2006-09-24 02:58
    Sigh. Yes, people ask for these things every so often.