Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
VSS VDD servo problems. Vss Vdd short causes reset?! — Parallax Forums

VSS VDD servo problems. Vss Vdd short causes reset?!

mportermporter Posts: 2
edited 2006-09-20 02:35 in BASIC Stamp
Greetings.· I am a newbie, so· forgive me if this is a silly question:

I recently purchased a Parallax mini servo.· All I am trying to do at this point is get my BS2 to make the servo move.· Following instructions on the parallax site, I created a circuit where I connected two (yes, the correct two) of the servo leads to VSS and VDD and the other to p0 on my BS2.· I copied·some code from the parallax site that shows how to send a "PULSOUT 0,temp" to the pin.· However, when I try to compile and run, the stamp editor (v2.2.6) cannot find my stamp.· I can detach VSS, and am able to complie and run, and then re-plug in VSS, but the Servo does not move.· Also, it seems like my program freezes, and restarts when I unplug VSS.·

I put debug statements in my code, and that·seems to be working fine.· I also put an LED off of PIN0 and was able to verify that I am, in fact, getting a slight pulse out of·pin0.· I have·also tried·using other pins too (P4).

I am using a base board that I got out of a Predko book.· I have verified that I have 5v across VSS and VDD.· Other code on the stamp seems to work fine, provided that I don't directly connect·VSS and VDD.

Interestingly, I have also been able to get the stamp editor to find the stamp if I wire the servo like this:· VSS -> LED -> Servo -> VDD, or even without the servo if I do something like this:·VSS -> LED -> VDD, or VSS -> 470Ohm Resistor -> VDD.· I have been kicking around the idea of using an LM358 to try and isolate VSS/VDD from the servo, but honestly, I am not really sure I know what I am doing, and it just doesn't feel like I should need to do that!

I am using a brand new 9 volt battery to power my board.· And, my board uses a simple serial cable connection.