Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
10 amp BS2 controlled variable power supply (0 to 12V) — Parallax Forums

10 amp BS2 controlled variable power supply (0 to 12V)

BoomboxBoombox Posts: 24
edited 2006-10-13 13:59 in General Discussion
I need some help coming up with a 0 to 12 volt 10 amp variable power supply circuit that I can control with a BS2. Any ideas??

Thanks!
Boombox

Comments

• Desy2820Desy2820 Posts: 138
    edited 2006-09-18 02:01
    I'm not an electronics expert, but I did find this on the National Semiconductor's website.· The basic idea is that you would use three LM338 adjustable 5 Amp regulators.·

http://www.national.com/pf/LM/LM338.html

Look for the link to read the datasheet on-line, then scroll down to page 10, under "Typical Applications", the one I saw was rated to 15 Amps.

Instead of R8, a 2K ohm pot, you'd subsistute a digitally controlled pot.· This device recieves a digital input and adjusts it's resistance.·

Then connect the digital pot to the BS2.

There are some catches.· First, the lowest voltage out would be 1.2 volts, not zero as you asked for and a minimum load of 100 milliamps.· (Although a relay controlled by the BS2 could disconnect the load.)· Second, with these regulators, you need about 1.5 volts input above your·output, at 12 volts out, you'd need at least 13.5 volts in...at about 11 amps.· Finally, your going to need a large heatsink for the regulators and will probably need to use a fan too.

If this idea doesn't work for you, then just search for "10A adjustable power supplies", "schematics" and combinations of these words.· You should get a huge number of hits.· The digital pot idea subsitution idea should work in most·designs that use a variable resistor.

I hope this helped!

Post Edited (Desy2820) : 9/18/2006 2:08:13 AM GMT
  • LoopyBytelooseLoopyByteloose Posts: 12,537
    edited 2006-09-19 16:17
    If you have a 'bi-polar' supply [noparse][[/noparse]+10v and -3v] you can get all the way down to 0.