Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Little World — Parallax Forums

Little World

jcfergusonjcferguson Posts: 86
edited 2006-09-22 00:55 in BASIC Stamp
Hi, I'm pretty new to basic stamp, working through tutorials right now.

I have an art project that I would like to control with the basic stamp - it is a little robot with a pan/tilt camera and locomotion motor that runs through a diorama, controlled by the viewer sitting at a control panel (with two joysticks and a video monitor). Right now this is controlled by an rc unit.

These are some videos from the diorama:

http://www.carlosferguson.com/2005.html

My question - is it feasable to wirelessly control three servos with a couple basic stamps and an rf link? My thought is that this could later be adapted to run over the internet.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Carlos

Comments

• jcfergusonjcferguson Posts: 86
    edited 2006-09-19 13:54
    Anyone?

My main question: is an RF link practical for controlling 3 servos via a couple of BS2's? One BS2 would be hooked to joysticks, the other to the servos. Is an RC set better?

Thanks!

Carlos
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2006-09-19 14:08
    Martin Hebel is selling Zigbee adapters (see http://forums.parallax.com/forums/default.aspx?f=15&m=144979) for the Stamp AppMod socket and a simpler SIP version. This is a simple RF network system that could work very very nicely for this project.
  • Kevin WoodKevin Wood Posts: 1,266
    edited 2006-09-19 20:43
    You can aslo find some posts in the Robotics forums on modifying Boe-Bots to work with remote control, playstation controllers, etc.

You could also look at the Microsoft Robotics Studio kit for the Boe-Bot for some ideas.
    edited 2006-09-20 23:05