Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Security Alarm project — Parallax Forums

Security Alarm project

exp1exp1 Posts: 22
edited 2006-09-15 20:34 in BASIC Stamp
Hello people,

I am new to electronics so please be kind turn.gif

I want to make security alarm project for my home and I am thinking of using around 11 PIR sensors (motion control) and some sensors for the doors ( the open-close switch for the doors ).

The idea is that I will connect a GSM module (Noklia N12i) and finally the module will send me an sms message if the alarm is raised. And of course some beels will ring.

My problme that I think that I will have is the following:
I will need several meters of cable in order to place all the sensors. I haven't used wireless because it is more expensive and because I have already purchased the sensors burger.gif

Do you think that the signal will be lost because of the wire's length ?
Will I need something like a repeater to reapet the signal ?

SOme informations would be useful.

Thank you in advance

Comments

• matthelmmatthelm Posts: 19
    edited 2006-09-14 14:38
    I'm doing something like this, and decided to add a differential driver to the output of each sensor. This adds a bit to cost and power usage, but makes sure that the signal gets where it should be. I was going to use a standard RS-485 driver, and cat5 wire. Both of these are easy to find and use. I was just going to disable the receive on the RS-485 at the sensor.
  • exp1exp1 Posts: 22
    edited 2006-09-14 15:55
    matthelm Thank you for the quick answer.

But because I am new I would like a bit more help if you want.
    Are u able to give a general diagram of the connections that you have made ?

From the little that I have read for the rs485 is being used for intranets if I am not wrong.
    Do we know the max length that it can safely send/receive the signal ?

Is it something like a filter that takes out noise ?