sis there a possability for singlestep debugging

StefanL38StefanL38 Posts: 2,292
edited 2006-09-02 14:35 in Propeller 1
hello to every propeller(pilot)

im really really new to the propeller. Knowing not very much

reading about start and stop cogs

is there a possability to create a special debugmode
by using one cog as something like a "debugmaster"
switching on and off other cogs after each commandline?

or would i have to write additional code that makes the handshaking for this

sending bytes to a PC-terminal or creating a TV-Picture helps a lot.
But there are some problems that could be solved much quicker with a singlestep
mode

If you have a fast runnig main-cycle with a cycletime with less than - let's say 10 seconds
you don't have time to react fast enough by watching a TV-Screen switching the state of an IO-PIN
for testing what's happening if the state is alternated

One example:

a program running a main-cycle waiting for commands making the
program do different things

The real switch-state of a digital sensor ist "OFF".
Inside the software the switchstate is represented by a boolean variable
updated by a own routine (process-image)

When the software is running normally the switchstate "OFF" would raise an errormessage

For debugging purposes i would like to change the switch-state of the variable to "ON"
making the program going on the normal way (and not raising an errormessage)

now it would be very helpful to have something like a singlestep mode.

Within one main-cycle the process-image has finished updating and has set the switchstate to "OFF"
i stop execution after process-image-updating changing the switchstae to "ON"
and then go on with execution step by step analysing what the program is doing
in the rest of this main-cycle

Of course i could make the program stop by a hardwareswitch and a little bit of additional code in this case

But a singlestep mode allows to stop EVERYWHERE changing ANY variable to ANY value