Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Voltage Regulation — Parallax Forums

Voltage Regulation

willis123willis123 Posts: 11
edited 2006-09-01 20:11 in General Discussion
I'm planning on using a Fairchild voltage regulator to feed a solenoid valve instead of using the BS2's internal reg. Does anyone know what the difference is between·Fairchild's LM7805 and their LM78M05 voltage regulators? Also, on·their website, these are shown wired up with capacitors connecting the input and output to ground. Maybe a stupid question, but what do these caps do?

http://www.fairchildsemi.com/ds/LM/LM7805.pdf
(see Page 22/28)

http://www.fairchildsemi.com/ds/LM/LM78M05.pdf
(see Page 9/14)

Thanks in advance.

(Oh, and I'm new to the whole microcontroller/stamp businesss. I did however have a couple of circuits classes.....though I'm not 100% sure why one uses a capacitor other than for starting a motor or something)

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2006-08-30 17:14
    I'm not sure in detail of the differences between the 7805 and 78M05, but the specs show a 1A output limit on the 7805 and 0.5A for the 78M05. Also the 78M05 is available in an additional package type. If 0.5A is more than adequate for your needs, it probably doesn't matter which you use. Be careful about heatsinking. Whatever voltage there is between your supply and the output of the regulator gets turned into heat and the regulator requires about 2.5V minimum above the output voltage. If you're drawing 0.5A with an input voltage of 9V, that's (9-5)x0.5=2 watts that has to be dissipated as heat.