Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Board size for final project — Parallax Forums

Board size for final project

killervettekillervette Posts: 16
edited 2006-08-29 21:29 in BASIC Stamp
Ok, so lets say i want to make a simple device that senses the temperature with a ds1620 and reports it to either a lcd· or·3 seven segment leds.· Obviously i dont want to use the homework board since its kinda big and not made for· a final product.· What are my options.· I am very new to making these devices, so try and be specific if you could.· thanks.

Comments

• dandreaedandreae Posts: 1,375
    edited 2006-08-29 14:24
    You might try the "Stamp 2 Carrier Board" with a Parallax 2x16 LCD.· Here are a couple of links for the board and LCD:

http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=27120

http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=27976

Dave

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Dave Andreae

Tech Support
    dandreae@parallax.com
    Http://www.parallax.com

·
  • killervettekillervette Posts: 16
    edited 2006-08-29 17:07
    Ok, but how do you get real small devices then. If i were to buy a temperature guage in a store it would be tiny compared to that board ^. What is the difference? I told you i was new to this [noparse]:)[/noparse]
  • dandreaedandreae Posts: 1,375
    edited 2006-08-29 20:26
    I understand that you are new to this, however, can explain in detail exactly what you are looking for?· Baiscally you are going to need some sort of microcontroller to read the temperature sensor and display that information LCD.· There are several types and packages of teperature modules that are available.· Here is a link to some of the sensors that we carry:· http://www.parallax.com/html_pages/products/componentshop/sensors.asp

Dave

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Dave Andreae

Tech Support
    dandreae@parallax.com
    Http://www.parallax.com

·
  • killervettekillervette Posts: 16
    edited 2006-08-29 20:56