Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Sharing Data Between Multiple Programs — Parallax Forums

Sharing Data Between Multiple Programs

spainespaine Posts: 51
edited 2006-08-25 20:04 in BASIC Stamp
Is there a way for me to share data between programs?

For example, can I have the program in slot 0 ask for two integers to be entered (say X and Y), and then call another program (slot 1) to do some equation (say addition for the heck of it) place the result into another variable, and return back to program 0. Then Program 0 will display the result variable?

I would imagine this would be simple, but perhaps it is because I'm still a newbie. Any example code someone can show me would be appreciated.

Thanks smilewinkgrin.gif

Comments

• allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2006-08-14 19:17
    Yes, you can do this, but you must realize that all variable space is 'common' between slots. So all variables must be declared identically in each slot.
  • NewzedNewzed Posts: 2,503
    edited 2006-08-14 19:20
    Al banks in your program must have the same pin assignments, constants and variables, all listed in precisely the same order, and they must all be sized the same.· This means each variable in each bank must be the same size but all variables do not have to be the same size.· This will ensure correct passing of variables to other banks.

Sid

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Sid Weaver
    Do you have a Stamp Tester yet?
    http://hometown.aol.com/newzed/index.html

·
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2006-08-14 19:37