Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Basic stamp in a paintball marker! — Parallax Forums

Basic stamp in a paintball marker!

FireHelixFireHelix Posts: 42
edited 2006-10-16 16:18 in BASIC Stamp
Well, I'm fairly new to the basic stamp scene, but I've had great luck finding answers and learning material here in the parallax forums. My curent project involves using a pbasic setup to controll the functions of a paintball marker. At it's base level the program needs to monitor the trigger (lever switch), monitor breech eyes (ir led and reciever) for making sure a paintball is loaded before fireing, and activating the pnumatic solenoid that fires the marker. I'm planning on posting more to this thread as my project progresses.

The structure I'm using just scans for trigger pulls repeatedly till it sees a pull, which it then checks the breech eyes. If it sees no paintball, it returns to checking the trigger, if it does see a ball, it jumps to the solenoid routine.

ok whew... that was a lot of explaining right off the bat. so here's my scenario I need help with. I need to be sure that when the stamp sees a trigger pull that it actually is a valid pull, not just electronic or mechanical bounce. Id like to do this by having the routine make sure the trigger is pulled for atleast 2-3ms before passing TrigPull = 1 back to the main program. Looking around a little I thought RCTIME might be what i need but I'm not entirely sure.

Any suggestions on how to monitor the trigger and make sure it's pulled for a set amount of time before counting it as valid?

Comments

• bsparkybsparky Posts: 52
    edited 2006-08-09 10:41
    You might try this:

Trigger:

DO WHILE Trig = 0
    LOOP
    PAUSE 50
    IF Trig = 0 THEN Trigger

rest of code here

This way the trigger has to be held for a shot period. You can adjust the PAUSE length to your liking. Hope this helps.
  • FireHelixFireHelix Posts: 42
    edited 2006-08-09 12:15