Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
MAX Address limit? — Parallax Forums

MAX Address limit?

RinksCustomsRinksCustoms Posts: 531
edited 2006-08-13 05:46 in Propeller 1
Hi all,
·In another thread, I have a link to an end stackable 1024bit I2C compatible EEPROM. My question, what would the theoretical internal HEX addressing limit be with the propeller?· With a "long" variable (32bits), calculated max value is 7FFF FFFF, and·with the 1024bit version,·
Reads may be
sequential within address boundaries 0000h to FFFFh
and 10000h to 1FFFFh. Functional address lines allow
up to four devices on the same data bus. This allows for
up to 4 Mbits total system EEPROM memory.
Now i'm new to understanding exactly how memory and addressing is "laid out" and how the two interact. I thought HEX only goes from 0 to F and begins a new cycle at 10 to 1F, what's that "h" for?
Does the theoretical max address have to include the three bytes for control and addressing w/a data array that is used for a page write opperation? The "h" in the memory address "FFFFh" and "1FFFFh" is as clear as mud to me as i never came across something like this. And i may have answered my own question, but I'd still like some clarifacation/vindication to my questions/statements, if anyone may shed a lil light on the subject, i'd much appreciate their help.
The only conclusion that I arive at right now is that a LONG would have no trouble with three bytes worth of control/chip address/memory address, and i realize you could split the control/chip address/read-write byte into a byte sized variable, but that's not the point here.· I've been eye'in up an NVRAM w/16M·on one chip. It sports 21 address lines and a similar·number of·datalines (parallel datalogging possible?)

Thanks again for all the help· guys,
Michael

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Definetly a E3 (Electronics Engineer Extrodinare!)
"I laugh in the face of imposible,... not because i know it all, ... but because I don't know well enough!"

Comments