Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Parallax USB Oscilloscope - Rock and a hard place — Parallax Forums

Parallax USB Oscilloscope - Rock and a hard place

restlessmindrestlessmind Posts: 3
edited 2006-08-04 19:59 in General Discussion
I am an electronics newbie - sort of -·anyway, I got this idea of using a Basic stamp to build a controller for my electric trains.·Dealing with inputs with the stamp is a wiz. Programming· . . .· no problem. The hard part. Controlling 18v rms. I built a controller with an optisolator, a TLC555 chip, a TRIAC and a digital pot and a few transistors and caps. It worked great with a light bulb, but when working with an electric motor, I'm getting surges. So my research led me in the direction of a snubber circuit.·. . . . . And back in over my head.

I reasoned that an Oscilloscope would be valuable, because I am dealing with phase control, and the interference created by an electric motor. I found out about the Parallax offering and the lessons on how to use it. This is great. I know nothing about these tools.

I have 5 volts interfacing with the 18v rms·through the optisolator. I feel sure this scope could help me with the 5v part of my logic trace, but the 18v (36pp) is what is keeping me from buying this product, because it is rated at 20pp. I really want to see what is happening with the snubber.

Is it even reasonable to think that I could use this tool? ·Any wisdom would be appreciated.

Thanks

Comments

• stamptrolstamptrol Posts: 1,731
    edited 2006-08-04 12:51
    restless,

The scope is always a valuable tool to have. The capabilities generally lie in their max frequency input and the maximum input voltage.

To look at your circuit the Parallax scope will probably be fine with a simple voltage divider as a probe to keep the max voltage within limits. I haven't checked the 'scopes input arrangement, but a common industrial scope probe has 10x attenuation built in, which would help in your situation.