Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
New member with programming questions — Parallax Forums

New member with programming questions

TomLTomL Posts: 15
edited 2006-07-30 02:55 in BASIC Stamp
First, I would like to say that I have used the BS2 in numerous projects. I can make it do what I want it to do most of the time. But, I am not an "effective or effecient" programmer. I am an Electronics teacher at a post secondary school, so I know the hardware fairly well. I am working on a new project, and can not get the "how to" straight in my head.

Project is a foot pedal motor speed control. The foot pedal turns a pot whose analog out goes to an ADC0804 (8 bit ADC). I want to read the ADC data and immediately pwm the same value. For instance, if I were mid range on throttle pedal, I shouild read about decimal 128, then I want to immediately generate pwm of 128 decimal. My brain has had a core dump.

Thanks

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2006-07-29 21:35
    Cane,

·· So you're interested in using the BASIC Stamp PWM command to generate an analog voltage?· What exactly will it be driving?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
  • TomLTomL Posts: 15
    edited 2006-07-29 21:58
    I know how to use pwm. I want to input data from an 8 bit a/d and immediately generate pwm of equal value to a fet motor driver.
    edited 2006-07-29 22:09
    Cane,

·· The range of·PWM is from 0-255, which is the same range as what the ADC returns.· So there is no problem with just using the RAW value from the ADC as a parameter for PWM, if you so desire it.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
  • FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2006-07-29 22:26
    val = (whatever you need to get the value from the pot)
    pwm pin, val, duration

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Stephen
    edited 2006-07-29 22:39