Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Making a servo follow a potentiometer — Parallax Forums

Making a servo follow a potentiometer

AlphawookieAlphawookie Posts: 14
edited 2006-08-23 07:27 in BASIC Stamp
Howdy folks. This is my first attempt so go easy.

I was interested in making a standard hobby servo follow the rotations of a potentiometer, but I ran into a snag. It does find the correct·position, as close as I can tell, but it's real jerky.
I started with the instructions for using photoresistors on the Boe-Bot, replacing the photoresistor with a 0-50k pot. I hooked up a standard, unmodified servo (way old, with layers of Pleocene·crud on it) to the connector on P12.

After a rude introduction to math without decimal points, I came up with the following program:

'Robotics with the Boe Bot - LinkPotToServo.bs2
'Link potentiometer circiut connected to P6
'to unmodified servo on P12
'220 ohm resistor
'#103 cap  (0.01F)
'0-50k Potentiometer
'Airtronics 34631 Servo
'{$stamp BS2}
'{$Pbasic 2.5}
'Full Left on pot  TimeP6= 0.00364
'90 Left on pot    TimeP6= 0.00360
'Center  on pot    TimeP6= 0.00200
'90 Right on pot   TimeP6= 0.00052
'Full right on pot TimeP6= 0.00049
Leftpottime CON 360
cenpottime CON 200
rightpottime CON 52
TimeP6 VAR Word       'Rctime on #103 cap.
PulseLength VAR Word  'Pulse to standard servo
Pulseadj VAR Word     'Pulse adjustment from center
' PULSOUT 12, 1250    'Full left
' PULSOUT 12, 850     'Center
' PULSOUT 12, 450     'Full right
DO
 HIGH 6
 PAUSE 2
 RCTIME 6,1, TimeP6
 Pulseadj = (1+ (ABS(Cenpottime - TimeP6)*120/(Cenpottime- rightpottime)))*32/10
 IF TimeP6 > 350 THEN Pulselength = 1250
 IF Timep6 > 200 AND (Timep6 < 350) THEN Pulselength = (850 + pulseadj)
 IF timeP6 <= 200 THEN Pulselength = (850 - pulseadj)
 IF timeP6 < 52 THEN Pulselength = 450
PULSOUT 12, PulseLength
DEBUG HOME, SDEC5 ? TimeP6
DEBUG SDEC4 ? Pulselength
DEBUG SDEC4 ? pulseadj
LOOP