Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
I'm extremely new to this please help. — Parallax Forums

I'm extremely new to this please help.

MeatstickMeatstick Posts: 11
edited 2006-07-29 21:22 in BASIC Stamp
Im really new to this I want to build a little robot to control from my computer. So my question is If I can put..

The BASIC Stamp 2sx Module
bs2sx-ic.gif

on the BS2p24/40 Demo Board

45187.gif

And what software and other hardware to get started I would need. I have seen the starter kits but the one that has the breadbutter board is to expensive.
Thank You.

Comments

• willthiswork89willthiswork89 Posts: 359
    edited 2006-07-29 06:40
    if your new i would start with the What a MicroController board to make sure you like it.... to build a robot you would have to buy the Robotics with the boebot kit... it comes with the robot you have to assemble and the Board of Education with is more towards beginners use

http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=28132

there is the Boebot

http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=28152

thats the Microcontroller book. hope i helped
  • HarborHarbor Posts: 73
    edited 2006-07-29 07:18
    If you're on a tight budget, the best bet is always a kit. You could download the books you need and read them on your computer, but a kit will even include proper bound books which are easier to study. And the price for individual parts is always higher than a kit.

The Boe-Bot is an excellent recommendation. A very good place to begin learning robotics and small computers both. For about the price of those two items you mentioned (which will work together as you asked), you could always bid on a Boe-Bot kit in an E-Bay auction. Seven or eight are being offered this week. They are not warrantied the same as a new kit would be, but Parallax has checked them out thoroughly before offering them for sale at auction. You can read details at the company's E-Bay page. http://search.ebay.com/_W0QQsassZpbasic1