Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
need help with parallax 433 RF module — Parallax Forums

need help with parallax 433 RF module

DemoncleanerDemoncleaner Posts: 17
edited 2006-07-28 16:53 in BASIC Stamp
Hi all,

I need to send (only send) data from my computer serial output to my Basic Stamp Board via RF...

I allready have the 433 RF Transmiter and the 433 RF receiver.So i have to the 433 RF Transmiter with my PC...To do that

should i use an extra board???If i should make an extra board, does anybody know where could i found a schematic

of this board???

_____
| | ________________ ______________ ____________________
| PC | --> |433 RF Transmiter|
> |433 RF Receiver| --> |PIC Basic Stamp Board|
_____ ________________ ______________ ____________________
_____|

Thank for any help [noparse]:)[/noparse]

Comments

  • Bruce BatesBruce Bates Posts: 3,045
    edited 2006-07-28 13:49
    Deamoncleaner -

    What would you expect this "extra board" to do?

    Most of the inexpensive RF transmitters and receivers I've run across only need the following:

    1. Appropriate source of power (+,- VDC)

    2. Rx/Tx connections with the source/receiver of the signal

    3. Signal ground

    So long as you can supply that above, by whatever means, you should be good to go, unless encoders/de-coders are required in your specific application.

    Regards,

    Bruce Bates

    Post Edited (Bruce Bates) : 7/28/2006 3:45:59 PM GMT
  • dandreaedandreae Posts: 1,375
    edited 2006-07-28 15:28
    This can easily be done by using a second BOE/BS2 connected to the PC.· You can use Hyper-Terminal or the BASIC Stamp editor to send out serial commands to the BS2 and then have the BS2 send serial commands to the other BS2 via RF.

    Dave

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Dave Andreae

    Tech Support
    dandreae@parallax.com
    Http://www.parallax.com

    ·
  • DemoncleanerDemoncleaner Posts: 17
    edited 2006-07-28 15:31
    i allready did these things you told me...i also use max 232 for encoder....

    is this compatible with basic stamp???
  • JonathanJonathan Posts: 1,023
    edited 2006-07-28 15:37
    speaking of a 232 chip, you can just connect a serial cable to a 232 chip, and then connect the RF module directly to the 232, no second Stamp required.

    Jonathan

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    www.madlabs.info - Home of the Hydrogen Fuel Cell Robot
  • dandreaedandreae Posts: 1,375
    edited 2006-07-28 15:40
    Yes, the MAX-232 chip is compatible with the BASIC Stamp.· You can wire a circuit that drops the true RS-232v down to TTL logic level using the MAX-232 chip and then you could transmit the serial data through the RF module.

    Dave

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Dave Andreae

    Tech Support
    dandreae@parallax.com
    Http://www.parallax.com

    ·
  • DemoncleanerDemoncleaner Posts: 17
    edited 2006-07-28 15:54
    i did exactly this and i send the data to P0 but it doesn't respond...
    the code for the receiver:

    P3 PIN 3
    P0 PIN 0
    Main:

    SERIN P0, Baud, [noparse][[/noparse]x]
    '===================================
    IF x = "a" THEN 'Up

    HIGH P3
    PAUSE 2500
    LOW P3
    ENDIF
    IF x = "b" THEN

    HIGH P3
    PAUSE 2500
    LOW P3
    ENDIF

    GOTO Main

    END
  • Bruce BatesBruce Bates Posts: 3,045
    edited 2006-07-28 16:03
    Demoncleaner -

    Where is the program which SENT the data? May we presume the coding you've offered above is SX Basic?

    Regards,

    Bruce Bates

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    <!--StartFragment -->
  • DemoncleanerDemoncleaner Posts: 17
    edited 2006-07-28 16:18
    this is a .bs2 file from basic stamp editor....
    baud = T38k4
    x var byte
    and about the program that sent the data its writen in vb...
    and there is no doubt about it because i allready test it....
  • dandreaedandreae Posts: 1,375
    edited 2006-07-28 16:23
    Your baud rate is too high (38.4K), it needs to be 19.2K or below regarding the RF modules.

    Dave

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Dave Andreae

    Tech Support
    dandreae@parallax.com
    Http://www.parallax.com

    ·
  • DemoncleanerDemoncleaner Posts: 17
    edited 2006-07-28 16:47
    i just tried 9600 and i dont get anything yet.....
  • DemoncleanerDemoncleaner Posts: 17
    edited 2006-07-28 16:53
    thanks for helping ...i finally have some signal....i thing it was a problem with the transmitter - receiver system....
Sign In or Register to comment.