Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
ethernet / wireless connectivity? — Parallax Forums

ethernet / wireless connectivity?

noiddnoidd Posts: 4
edited 2006-07-26 09:14 in Propeller 1
For the propeller.

Is anyone working on this yet before I start evil scheming... I would hate to duplicate effort.

Comments

• noiddnoidd Posts: 4
    edited 2006-07-24 02:28
    That looks remarkeably like http://www.picotux.com/

If it is the same and runs linux it completely removes the need I have for the propeller chip since I'm a UNIX programmer already and looking at the propeller as my first microprocessor.
  • sharpiesharpie Posts: 150
    edited 2006-07-24 03:48
    That picotux looks like they may have used an xport...
    You can get an xport from here... Fairly cheap... http://cubloc.com/product/01_08xport.php
    Cheap as in like·half what the picotux is listed on their page..

Although, I'd rather not stray anyone from using a propeller...· You may find uses for it that you·hadn't originally thought of..· I know I have.

Post Edited (sharpie) : 7/24/2006 3:52:35 AM GMT
  • Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 23,514
    edited 2006-07-24 04:40
    I looked at the XPort awhile back. It seemed that if you wanted to do anything interesting with it — like serving dynamic web content based on data from an attached microcontroller — you had to use Java. That seemed a bit unpalatable. A server that used templates would be a lot more approachable.