Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Beginner puzzled by Standard Servo — Parallax Forums

Beginner puzzled by Standard Servo

George99George99 Posts: 16
edited 2006-07-21 18:50 in BASIC Stamp
I'm new to microcontrollers though I've been programming business applications for 40 years and have some electronics background, too.

So, I bought the Basic Stamp Activity Kit at Radio Shack and I'm working my way through the What's a Microcontroller? book.

I just did some of the exercises for the servo and have come away not really understanding what signals do what. It seems that pulse width tells it where to go, but I can't find anything that relates widths to positions. Also, what does the number of pulses affect?

Finally the book runs the servo through a range of about 90 degrees, but gently turning it I find the stops are 180 degrees apart.

Thank you! smile.gif

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2006-07-21 15:09
    Servos have a little controller in them that "knows" the current position and measures the width of pulses coming in, compares them and moves the motor until the position matches the pulse width it's receiving. If the little controller doesn't see a pulse every 20ms or so, it won't do anything and the servo can be gently turned (the gears and motor make it stiff).

Some servos only cover 90 degrees, so the exercises are based on that. The servos that Parallax sells have a wider range.

The maximum range for pulse width is maybe 0.5ms to 2.5ms, but some servos only recognize 1.0ms to 2.0ms. The short end of the range corresponds to one end of the mechanical rotation while the long end of the range corresponds to the other end of the rotation.