Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
FullDuplexSerial and Servo32 Incompatible? — Parallax Forums

FullDuplexSerial and Servo32 Incompatible?

sharpiesharpie Posts: 150
edited 2006-07-25 06:14 in Propeller 1
So, I'm still a newbie to this and not entirely sure of the dynamics here... But I cannot seem to get a servo to move at the same time I am accepting data.· Everything I do it seems either one or the other...· It's got to be me..· Right now I just have a serial stream coming in at 57600, and trying to move a servo with a loop at the same time...
Here's a simple test I tried (one of about a hundred combinations..)
con
  _clkmode = xtal1 + pll16x
  _xinfreq = 5_000_000                 
  Out = %1
var
  long stack1[noparse][[/noparse]50]
  long stack2[noparse][[/noparse]50]
obj
  tx  : "FullDuplexSerial"
  txt : "tv_terminal"
  svo : "Servo32"
pub Main
  txt.start(12)
  tx.start(0, 1, 0, 57_600)
  svo.Set(3,1500)
  svo.start
  cognew(recvData,@stack1)
  cognew(moveServo,@stack2)  
pub recvData
  repeat
    txt.out(tx.rx)
    txt.str(string(13,10))

pub moveServo | temp
  repeat                                              
    repeat temp from 1000 to 2000
      waitcnt (cnt+125_000)
      svo.Set(3,temp)
    repeat temp from 2000 to 1000
      waitcnt (cnt+125_000)
      svo.Set(3,temp)

Tried it with and without tv_terminal in there too...· Anybody able to provide some insight into this for me?

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2006-07-21 13:56
    One obvious bit is that the wait time in the servo loop is short (1.5ms) compared to the response time of the servos (20ms). The cycle from one end of the servo range to the other is on the order of 1.5 seconds and you should see movement. The servo routines are designed to put out repeated pulses every 20ms or so of the last set width and normally servos expect at least a few pulses of the same width before moving slightly to another.