Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Noob Question !!! Re Interfacing to 74HCT164 to Drive LEDS — Parallax Forums

Noob Question !!! Re Interfacing to 74HCT164 to Drive LEDS

sk8conzsk8conz Posts: 9
edited 2006-07-18 22:44 in BASIC Stamp
I'm a complete Noob to Stamps, so hopefully this has a really easy answer [noparse]:)[/noparse]

I'm trying to use the Stamp (BS2SX) to drive a string of 8 LEDS via a 74HCT164.

I'm started off with the circuit from :-· http://ourworld.compuserve.com/homepages/Bill_Bowden/page5.htm#4017-2.gif· - (see Expandable 16 Stage LED Sequencer).

It uses an 74HC14 schmidt trigger to drive the 74HCT164 (or multiple cascaded ones).·

I want to use the Stamp to replace the 74HC14 so I have more control over the timing and intervals between the string flashing.

I wrote the following code :-

' ==============================================================================
'
' {$STAMP BS2sx}
'
' ==============================================================================
'
' Program Description
'
' Flash 8 LEDS in Sequence connected to a 74HCT164
'
' I/O Definitions
'

DSA CON 8···· ' 164 DSA· Data Input· (DSB tied high)
CP CON 9····· ' 164 CP Clock input (LOW to HIGH edge triggered)
MR CON 10···· ' 164 MR Master Reset
clocks· VAR Byte
dsout VAR Byte ' data to shift to 164

'
' Program Code
'

Main:
dsout = 1
GOSUB flash
GOTO main
END

Flash:
FOR clocks = 1 TO 8················ ' 8 LEDS off 164
HIGH MR···························· ' wake up the 164
SHIFTOUT DSA,CP,MSBFIRST , [noparse][[/noparse]dsout]· ' push the data out
PAUSE 120·························· ' wait
LOW MR····························· ' reset the 164
·dsout = dsout*2
NEXT
RETURN
END

And it drives things fine, the LEDS flash in sequence etc,· but as they advance down the line, the other LEDS that are off have a slight flicker, almost like chattering.··

The discrete component circuit doesn't exhbibit this.

Am I doing something really dumb and obviously wrong ? shocked.gif