Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Art student needs help on IR sensors — Parallax Forums

Art student needs help on IR sensors

gdimgdim Posts: 3
edited 2006-07-13 22:04 in Learn with BlocklyProp
I'm a Digital Media student who's planning to use infrared sensors to use distance measurement to control an image that will be projected.

199diagram9ax.jpg

Basically, depending on the distance of the viewer from the screen, the image projected changes. Someone recommended me to purchase these IR sensors, but I'm not sure how to use them. Will I need a microcontroller to be able to communicate with my laptop to the projector from the sensors? Is there anyone that could help shine a light for me?

Thanks

Comments

• Kevin WoodKevin Wood Posts: 1,266
    edited 2006-07-12 19:08
    Have you seen the book Physical Computing: Sensing and Controlling the Physical World with Computers? It's geared towards interfacing various devices to a computer via microcontrollers and sensors. You can find it on Amazon.com, and if you Google the authors, you can find their websites.

The nice thing about the book is that besides the microcontrollers and and sensors, it also deals with software development on the computer for communicating with the microcontroller.

Your set-up would basically be:

1a. Microcontroller program monitors IR sensors for appropriate activity
    1b. Computer program monitors microcontroller for indication of appropriate activity
    2. When microcontroller detects a change, it notifies the computer
    3. Computer program processes info from microcontroller, and communicates with the projector

So, if you do this with your laptop in the loop, you will need some kind of program that will interface the microcontroller to the projector. For example, if you were using Powerpoint to run the projector, you could probably write some macros that would get the info from the microcontroller and jump to a new slide.