Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Pet Feeding System — Parallax Forums

Pet Feeding System

Derek OsterheldDerek Osterheld Posts: 2
edited 2006-07-12 17:07 in BASIC Stamp
To anyone who may be able to help,
··········· My name is Dr. Derek Osterheld. I have been pursuing an idea for some time now and am in the patent process but before I invest more money I need to know that a critical aspect of this project is possible and practical. I am a veterinarian; my project is an individualized feeding system. A prototype was constructed for me by DeVry. My problem is that the feeding systems success is predicated on its ability to feed the intended pet and not the other pets in the house - similar to the automatic dog doors already in pet stores. ·The premise is that each pet in the house has its own feeder.·Each individual·feeder is only accessible to the intended pet when that pet is with in a certain distance. Otherwise the feeding systems doors are closed to all other pets. This requires that the receiver on the feeding system picks up the collar tag transmitter only at very close distances so that you can’t have the intended pet sleeping close to the feeder – which opens the feeder doors to the rest of the hungry pets. Below are some target distances for pets of 3 different sizes - which mean 3 different sized feeding systems.
·
Cats and small dogs shouldn’t activate (open) the feeding doors any further out than 30cm
·
Medium sized dogs shouldn’t activate (open) the feeding doors any further out than 45cm
·
Large dogs shouldn’t activate (open) the feeding doors any further out than 60cm
·