Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Looking for Recommended practices for schematic/PCB/BOM design — Parallax Forums

Looking for Recommended practices for schematic/PCB/BOM design

Timothy D. SwieterTimothy D. Swieter Posts: 1,613
edited 2006-08-04 09:52 in General Discussion
I am an engineer and like to design things to capture all the information in a logical sense. I have been doing industrial control system design and drawings for a while. On the assembly drawings (the drawing that shows how to mount components within an enclosure) there usually is the Bill of Materials. Then there is a schematic drawings that details the wiring of the cabinet.

Now I am getting more into schematic/circuit/PCB design at my work. I am glad that I have the electronics/robotics skills from my hobby, but lack someone to show me the way for doing things professionally (clean, neat, and in some recognizable fashion to the industry).

I am interested in learning more about recommended practices (or what others do) to document their design. Does a BOM get placed on the circuit schematic drawing? If not on the schematic, where then? Separate Excel sheet? In addition to the Gerber files is a drawing created for the board layout? I like to keep things simple and make sure all the information is documented and presented in a logical manner. At the moment I don't see how a circuit and PCB design is documented cleanly, how curren design has the information spread across too many files.

I thought I would ask the more experienced circuit/schematic/PCB designers on this forum. Thank for your thoughts.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Timothy D. Swieter
tdswieter.com
One little spark is all it takes for an idea to explode

Comments

• Kevin WoodKevin Wood Posts: 1,266
    edited 2006-07-11 05:27