Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Knight Rider/Cylon Scanner — Parallax Forums

Knight Rider/Cylon Scanner

BernieBBBernieBB Posts: 1
edited 2006-10-09 18:54 in BASIC Stamp
Can anyone help with a design to create a PWM Basic Program to build a Scanning (back & forth) LED light string of ten to twelve Led's. I want the scanning to have a fadding effect not just a point of moving light.

I have a PDB with Basic 2 stamp, and texts. I am new to this but hope I might get some pointers

Thanks!

BernieBB

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2006-07-09 00:57
    Bernie,

·· You don't need PWM to do that...Just put a Capacitor on each LED so that it slowly discharges.· That's how they got that effect in the real thing.· It was a small RC circuit on the driver.· I don't recall off-hand if they used a MOSFET or a Power Transistor.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
  • bennettdanbennettdan Posts: 614
    edited 2006-07-10 19:22
    Bernie,
    What do you mean when you want it to fade and scroll?
  • Fe2o3FishFe2o3Fish Posts: 170
    edited 2006-07-10 22:05
    Or use incandescent lamps instead of LEDs. They'll fade just fine on their own.
    That what those displays (Cylons and K.I.T.T.) used anyhow. smile.gif
    Alas, a little more is needed to drive the lamps (something like a transistor and
    a resistor or two for each lamp) but... do you want cheap or accurate??? smile.gif

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    -Rusty-
    --
    Rusty Haddock = KD4WLZ = rusty@fe2o3.lonestar.org
    **Out yonder in the Van Alstyne (TX) Metropolitan Area**
    Microsoft is to software what McDonalds is to gourmet cooking
  • villianvillian Posts: 3
    edited 2006-07-15 17:19