Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Colors initialisation — Parallax Forums

Colors initialisation

RoiRoi Posts: 7
edited 2006-07-07 22:21 in Propeller 1
Hi again

I understand from the Graphics_Palette.spin, that there are 64 possible colors, but·only 4 colors are allowed per square on the 16*12 squares on the screen.

Is it not possible to have, say, just 16 or 8 colors, but all of them accessible on every pixel?

Further, I just can't seem to understand this color & tile initialisation process. (I have many years programming experience, but not this lowlevel)

From Graphics_demo.spin:

'init colors 
repeat i from 0 to 64 
  colors[noparse][[/noparse]i] := $00001010 * (i+4) & $F + $2B060C02 
'init tile screen 
repeat dx from 0 to tv_hc - 1 
  repeat dy from 0 to tv_vc - 1 
    screen[noparse][[/noparse]dy * tv_hc + dx] := display_base >> 6 + dy + dx * tv_vc + ((dy & $3F) << 10)

Can someone please explain it to me, or point me·to some litterature explaining it, so that I can make my own custom colors?

Thanks

Comments

• Paul BakerPaul Baker Posts: 6,351
    edited 2006-07-07 18:58
    It is not possible to use the Video Peripheral with more than 4 colors in each tile, if you look at the details of the VCFG and WAITVID you'll see there is only the option of 1 bit or 2 bits of information for each pixel is possible. I was trying to think if you could somehow trick more colors out by using the VGA mode, but Im pretty certain that's a dead end since the color in TV is generated by phase shifting the color carrier signal.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Life is one giant teacup ride.
  • Kaos KiddKaos Kidd Posts: 614
    edited 2006-07-07 19:35
    I'v an idea Paul, that's along the same lines as your suggestion, but somewhat different.
    Back in the Old C64 days, they (not me, thats the BFZ) used raster intrupts, and on the intrupt, we overlayed additional bits into the color registers.