Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
trying to run MM5480 LED driver... giving up — Parallax Forums

trying to run MM5480 LED driver... giving up

pixlopixlo Posts: 6
edited 2006-07-05 05:18 in BASIC Stamp
this is my last ditch effort to ask for help on this problem.

i know very little about electronics and hoped that by following the amps and volts on the datasheet for the ins and outs on the MM5480 3.5 digit display driver, I could get it running by sending a 36bit shiftout, but i cant and I've been banging on it for three days straight.

HAS ANYONE WORKED WITH THESE DRIVERS BEFORE?

they are based on the MM5450/MM5451, I think, but they dont have an enable.

if you have and you would like to help, please respond. I have the feeling I'm not hooking it up right. i am a programmer, but not with picbasic.

i mean, whats the deal? do i need to hook capacitors up to the data and clock in or something? ive built the circuit on the brightness control like it said in the datasheet. I get the feeling the datasheet is not what i should be looking at for how to hook this up.

argh

i hate this.

-nick

Post Edited (pixlo) : 7/2/2006 8:31:21 PM GMT

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2006-07-03 06:20
    Nick,

·· On the contrary...The datasheet is definately needed for the connection.· Of course you have to know how to handle the BASIC Stamp side connections as well.· 3 days isn't much for people on this forum.· Not everyone checks in that often so you could be giving up prematurely.

·· On the other hand I think my fellow Tech Support Staff would agree I have quite a considerable collection of parts covering many areas of electronics, and yet I have never heard of these drivers, nor do I have any.· The electronics shops that are local do not seem to stock it or I would try to help you.