Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Moving to a permanent board — Parallax Forums

Moving to a permanent board

dtalvacchiodtalvacchio Posts: 36
edited 2006-07-11 23:40 in BASIC Stamp
Hello-- I'm a newbie who has gotten quite a lot of good advice on this forum, hoping for a little more . . .

I have a working prototype for a digital clock which features six large (1-inch) 7-segment display digits and which uses the Basic Stamp in combination with a crystal, a counter, and the Maxim digit display driver. I'm ready to move it to a permanent board (and then mount it in some sort of enclosure), and I'm really not sure where to start . . . One suggestion I received was to have a custom PCB made for the 6-digit display (as well as for time-setting buttons and LEDs for colons) and then to use a Super Carrier Board for the rest of the circuit, including the ICs, etc. This sounds fine, but I would then have two questions:

(1) How would I connect the PCB components to the Super Carrier components? Seems like I would have to allow for such a connection in the PCB design, but I have no idea what kind of connection this would be.

(2) On the Super Carrier Board part, do I have to wire-wrap the components? Is any soldering involved in this process?

I also have a Homework Board, but I'm guessing that I can't use its built-in breadboard in a permanent design, right?

If someone could give me specific guidelines just to get me started, I'd be very thankful . . .

Comments

• PJAllenPJAllen Banned Posts: 5,065
    edited 2006-07-02 01:44

I don't know what you're using at present.· A BoE or a HWB?· Maybe you should just put·all of that·in an enclosure, as is, and save some money.

Yes, soldering would, inevitably be involved in the process, otherwise.·

Having a printed-circuit board made up seems... extravagant.· At RadioShack you can buy an experimenter board which has the same patterns as a solderless breadboard.