Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Alternate transistors for BS1 serial adapter? — Parallax Forums

Alternate transistors for BS1 serial adapter?

DigitalManDigitalMan Posts: 42
edited 2006-06-23 09:04 in BASIC Stamp
I'm rather new to working with components, or at least too new to trust my judgement, so I figured I'd double-check before my assumptions break something.

I have neither 3906 nor 3904 transistors. What I do have is a shiny new PNP from Radio Shack and three working·NPN's desoldered from RC car remotes. How picky is the serial adapter schematic? Can I get away with using any old transistors, as long as they can handle the current and voltage?

I also see a lot in schematics online, such as one for·a PIC programmer (another important circuit I'd rather not screw up), that I'm allowed to use "equivalent" transistors to the ones shown. What does that mean? Are there specific values in the spec sheets I should be comparing?

I apologize if these are stupid questions, my web searching found nothing on this matter.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
;Long live the SX18AC/DP!

Comments

• PJAllenPJAllen Banned Posts: 5,065
    edited 2006-06-22 11:47
    · 2N3904, -3906 are general-purpose amplifier and switching transistors.· It could well be that the parts you propose will suffice.·
    · The schematic is definitely "picky" such that the electrodes of the transistors have to be got right.· So, you need to pin out your transistors -- because sometimes they're E-B-C and sometimes they're E-C-B.
    · Especially in the case of these R/C pieces.· What sort are they, do you have datasheets?· The more you know, the less likelihood of your making an "did I fry my stamp? please help" post (replete with cry-baby emoticon.)
  • DigitalManDigitalMan Posts: 42
    edited 2006-06-22 12:13
    Fortunately, I do know to make sure the pinouts are right.