Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
USB object? — Parallax Forums

USB object?

MuncherMuncher Posts: 38
edited 2006-06-24 02:26 in Propeller 1
I am NOT good with assembly, and I want to create a USB object. I'm guessing this cannot be done in SPIN, so 1) can it be done, and 2) how can it be done.

I'm lazy...redface.gif (snore)

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2006-06-22 03:50
    Do you want to create a USB slave device or a USB master? A slave object for a simple device like a HID class (keyboard, mouse, etc.) should be doable in SPIN. A USB master is much more difficult since it has to know how to drive all kinds of devices. On the other hand, getting a new slave device to work with Windows or MacOS is harder. It's much easier to use a USB to serial adapter like the FTDI FT232R or already assembled modules like their TTL232R-3V3 smart USB cable which is directly compatible with the Propellor's signal levels and can supply 5V at 50ma.
  • Beau SchwabeBeau Schwabe Posts: 6,547
    edited 2006-06-22 05:26
    Mike,

How about a "core" example file of a HID class slave object?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Beau Schwabe

IC Layout Engineer
    Parallax, Inc.
    edited 2006-06-22 15:52
    Beau, That's way way down on my priority list. After looking again at the USB spec, I think the low level stuff will have to be done in assembler (decoding and encoding the bit stream, calculating a CRC, looking for special conditions). Everything else can be done in Spin. I've got a USB based PIC programmer that looks like a HID. Microchip includes source listings and they looked very straightforward to convert to Spin, but I forgot about the built-in USB engine that does the bit assembly/disassembly. It's probably not too much more complicated to do than a full duplex serial object, but I don't have the time now.

Here are some references though:
    <http://www.edn.com/article/CA243218.html&gt;