Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Having problems powering BS2 — Parallax Forums

Having problems powering BS2

charlacharla Posts: 3
edited 2006-06-20 07:04 in BASIC Stamp
confused.gif

Hi,· I have a 9v battery that I've been connecting to the VIN(red or +) and VSS(black or -).· When I run the BS2 editor it can see the stamp but it cannot recognize it.· I mean it 'Echo' and 'Loopback' = Yes but the Version is not indicated, and the battery starts to get very warm.

Obviously, I'm new at this.· What am I doing wrong?

Comments

• Bruce BatesBruce Bates Posts: 3,045
    edited 2006-06-18 01:58
    Charla -

Take a look in the PBASIC Stamp Manual to be sure you have the orientation of the Stamp correctly mounted in its socket. Also make sure you've not shifted the Stamp in the socket such that some of the pins are socketed and others are not.

Regards,

Bruce Bates

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    <!--StartFragment -->
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2006-06-18 02:35
    Is this a laptop or desktop?· How are you connecting it to the computer, serial or USB?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
  • charlacharla Posts: 3
    edited 2006-06-18 03:00
    This is a laptop, and I'm using a USB to serial cable (RadioShack)
  • aalegadoaalegado Posts: 66
    edited 2006-06-18 03:49