Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Using Basic Stamp to Control a Charger — Parallax Forums

Using Basic Stamp to Control a Charger

SlylarkSlylark Posts: 2
edited 2006-06-15 22:01 in BASIC Stamp
I am new to the Basic Stamp and started learning.· I wanted to ask the group about my project and the best way to proceed.

In a nutshell, I have a VW Rabbit that was converted to a 96V electric car and this car has a "dumb" charger.· I would like to use the Basic Stamp to turn off the charger when a specific number of Amp Hours are replaced in the batteries during charging.

I currently use an E-meter with RS232 which measures the Amp Hours used and replaced.· I should be able to connect the Basic Stamp to the RS232 and read the data (which is sent every second).

So.... I need to write a program that looks at the string of data and sends instructions to a switch when the defined value is reached.· This switch will then turn the charger off.

Anyone know how to do this?· I am interested to hear any thoughts on this project.

Thanks

Joel

Comments

• steve_bsteve_b Posts: 1,563
    edited 2006-06-14 15:14
    This is certainly easy to do if your meter does indeed send RS232 data.
    Do you know what a typical stream looks like? How about connecting your computer up to it and posting an example of the stream.
    Do you have any code started?

How is your charger connected to the system? Does it plug in to 120Vmains? Does it have any controls on it?
    Do you just want to shut off the charger, or do you want to ramp through different stages of charging (start with a hard charge, and then lighten up as it gets closer to full charge?)?

Anyhow, you'd essentially want to read in the serial data and look at the data that reflects what the A/Hr capacity is....then you'd want to activate some sort of relay to shutoff the charger.
    You'd want to have some safeties in there in case you lose communication with your meter....you wouldn't want the charger to keep running.