Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
First Project — Parallax Forums

First Project

velogirlvelogirl Posts: 5
edited 2006-06-09 15:45 in BASIC Stamp
Hello all,

*disclaimer* newbie here

after receiving my basic stamp kit i proceded to make an led blink. yippie.

i am a feeling confident and a bit adventurous now and decided on my first non-tutorial project...and generally·i get it to work but·i don't have the precision I'd like.

here is the overall idea:

i·want to get a·motor to shoot (its the innards of a electric trigger BB gun, don't ask) and I'd like it to shoot Morse Code through keyboard input.·so in essence, i type in a letter and the software sends the pulses in order to "shoot" the letter as it would be in morse code in the bb gun.

the motor needs 7 volts to trigger

Since the board regulates·the pins to 5 volts and the i/o are only 20 ma,·i decided to replace the switch with a relay, and control it via 2 adjustable resistors. the battery pack is still connected to the motor.

see picture for details

my issue is this:

for some reason i am not getting a precise pulse. sometimes the motor has one revolution, sometimes two or three or seven...never a pattern. I want to be able to control it to one revolution per pulse in order to define the letters in the code.

any suggestions??? maybe there is a simpler solution and i am just overthinking the problem???

attached are a picture of the circuit and the code i have at this point...i appreciate any help or suggestions.

thanks a million!!!!
1152 x 768 - 99K

Comments

• HarborHarbor Posts: 73
    edited 2006-06-08 02:51
    Well, I assume that's a 12V reed relay in the picture, Velogirl, and that you're providing 7.2 volts or something like that to the firing circuit. You could fiddle with the pulse width and see if that works, but I'm guessing the problem is inherent in the trigger device. I've never seen an electric BB gun so I can't be sure.