Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
trying to hook a little speaker up to BOE breadboard — Parallax Forums

trying to hook a little speaker up to BOE breadboard

mowglimowgli Posts: 4
edited 2006-06-12 18:32 in BASIC Stamp
I'm new to robotics and not very well versed in electronics. i have a boe-bot and i've gone through the tutorial and am looking forward to experimenting with all kinds of things. but while i'm waiting for my next paycheck, i thought i'd try to hook up this weird little voice box to my boe-bot; everytime the button is pushed, it says "I LOVE YOU, I LOVE YOU" in this super creapy voice--it's meant for stuffed animals. anyway i figured if i just sealed the button closed and attached the battery wires to the breadboard it might work whenever i send a high signal to that pin, but no. it runs on 3, 1.5v batteries, so i guess it needs 4.5v? i tried setting up a resistor/capacitor circuit and using the PWM command, but call me a nut, i cannot figure out the circuit diagram under PWM in the syntax/reference manual.

any advice?

thanks,
ben

Comments

• bennettdanbennettdan Posts: 614
    edited 2006-06-06 03:48
    Try getting a PCB relay with a 5VDC coil and wire the N.O. contacts to the wires of your pushbutton then run the relay with your stamp. Look through the PDF. files of parallax on how to drive the relay from the stamp.
  • Beau SchwabeBeau Schwabe Posts: 6,559
    edited 2006-06-06 04:23
    Sending a HIGH signal does not work?

I doubt that the "voice box" is complaining about the voltage, 5V should be just fine.

The problem is that the "voice box" is probably not getting enough current.··

PWM in this case is not the way to go here.··

As a quick check, try connecting the + of your "voice box" directly to VDD (+5V) just
    to see if it comes on.· Make sure that the - of your "voice box" is connected to VSS also.
    If this test works, then you may just need a NPN transistor (2n3904) connected to your