Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Small and Light-weight connection of BS2 to PC — Parallax Forums

Small and Light-weight connection of BS2 to PC

John KauffmanJohn Kauffman Posts: 653
edited 2006-05-31 22:43 in BASIC Stamp
Small and lightweight connection from BS2 to PC
·
I am building a very small and lightweight project around a BS2 for field data collection. It will be brought back to the lab and the data off-loaded to a PC. I have done this type of project on BOE, but in this case I will add the sensors on the bottom of a 28 pin socket to make a smaller package. Adding a serial 9 pin jack would be prohibitively large and heavy.
·
My plan is to connect the four necessary BS2 pins to a very small four-pin female jack (scabbed from status LED connections to a PC motherboard). Then cut the end off of a serial cable and solder the four correct wires to a corresponding lightweight male jack
·
I studied the pin diagram at the bottom of· http://www.parallax.com/dl/docs/prod/schem/bs2revf.pdf. If I orient the wide part of the jack at the top the pins are numbered 1 to 5 from left to right. I am not sure of the perspective of that diagram. Is it looking form the outside into the holes of a female jack?
·
I also studied the jack on my BOE. Again, with the wide at the top, there are very small markings on the face that indicate on the top row pins 1 to 5 from right to left.
·
Another clue is the traces on the bottom of the BOE which indicate that pin 1 is on the right because pin two goes to SOUT and from pin 4 to the caps.
·
I have three questions:
  1. Is there a standard color code for the lines within a serial cable that can be used once the cable is cut? Which color goes to which BS2 pin?
  2. Is there a fool-proof way to know which wire of the serial cable to connect to which pin on the BS2?
  3. If I get it wrong will it just not work or will I see blue smoke?
·