Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Using a propeller as a intelligent communication hub — Parallax Forums

Using a propeller as a intelligent communication hub

Mr. BricoleMr. Bricole Posts: 2
edited 2006-06-01 13:11 in Propeller 1
Hello

I'm a newbie here, so I hope my question is not already answered somewhere inside the forum.

I'm thinking about using a Propeller chip in a multi-processor system for a robot. The Propeller would be linked serially with multiple slave PICs coprocessors.

From what i gatered so far, every time a USART objet is started in Spin, it uses a cog. So this would mean that I can only run 3 USART objects at once in my system;

3 USART comm cogs, 3 other cogs to process those feeds, 1 cogs for main control program, 1 "leftover" cog.

Would it be possible that 7 cogs run USART communication AND process information ? The remaining cog would run the main control program. This setup would be ideal i think. Also, I would be nice if the 7 cogs would not need to continually "swap" between separated comm USART program and proccessing program.

Comments

• GadgetmanGadgetman Posts: 2,436
    edited 2006-05-31 17:29
    Why do you need 3 COGs to process the information from the 3 COGs running the USARTs?

Even if you run the USART COGs at 19200bps, you will only receive about 500 32bit Lwords/second, and unless you have some very advanced processing to do on those streams, I can't see why you need 3 COGs to process the information.
    Remember, the Propeller has 32KB RAM and you can use a lot of that for buffering data.

The Propeller can supposedly start up a COG with a new object in a few uS if it's running at 80MHz. This means that every time a slave is deemed not to need 'supervision' for even a few mS, the COG that was communicating with it can be reused for another task. (Like communicating with another PIC or processing data?)

I mentioned 19200.