Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
stamp not downloading code :shocked: — Parallax Forums

stamp not downloading code :shocked:

chcummings2001chcummings2001 Posts: 2
edited 2006-07-08 22:27 in BASIC Stamp
when i try downloading the code onto the stamp, the program says it sees the stamp but it cannot download program onto stamp and to check power supply. i checked my 9v battery and it is running at 8.6v. mabey it has something to do with using a 9 pin serial to usb adaptor or the length of the cable. i dont know. i am new to electronics. can anyone give me any leads?

Post Edited By Moderator (Chris Savage (Parallax)) : 5/18/2006 6:22:37 PM GMT

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2006-05-18 18:23
    What adapter are you using?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
  • chcummings2001chcummings2001 Posts: 2
    edited 2006-05-18 22:32
    hi,
    the adaptor i used is called a usb pda/ serial adaptor cable made by dynex. it says that it works with devices that have rs-232 interface and that it supports data transfer rate up to 500 kbps. all greek to me.

Post Edited By Moderator (Chris Savage (Parallax)) : 5/19/2006 3:04:48 AM GMT
  • dandreaedandreae Posts: 1,375
    edited 2006-05-18 23:20
    Not all USB to serial adapters will work with the BASIC Stamps.· Radio Shack carries a known good and we carry the FTDI Usb to serial adapter that works perfect.· Here is a link for more information:· http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=800-00030

Dave

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Dave Andreae

Tech Support
    dandreae@parallax.com
    Http://www.parallax.com

·
    edited 2006-05-19 03:05
    And please stop posting every emoticon into each message you post...It's impossible to read the message with so many animated faces jumping all over.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com