Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Help with some Basic Stamp 2 programming for art project — Parallax Forums

Help with some Basic Stamp 2 programming for art project

BlakeBlake Posts: 74
edited 2006-05-29 01:44 in BASIC Stamp
Hey, I'm a senior Sculpture undergrad at Cornell University, and I'm using some BASIC stamps in a few of my projects for my thesis. I was wondering if there was anyone who would be willing to provide me with some assistance in writing a few programs. I know the basics of pbasic but not a lot of complex language. I've been learning with the book, Physical Computing.

Here's what I'm doing:

I would like to control typewriters with solenoids. I have two typewriters typing different words on each. I have a bunch of solenoids arrayed with bicycle brake lines, so that they each punch one key, thus typing one character. The solenoids are activated by a motion detector. Thus if the motion detector sense motion, the solenoids might type out, "P" "R" "E" "S" "E" "N" "T" "," "<space>" and wait for the next detection. I need to write a program that takes into account the line length of the typewriter to occasionally press the "<return>" button. Also, I would like to incorporate another motion detector, that, when activated, interrupts the normal flow of the first detector, inserting a new word with other solenoids standing by.

So with the two typewriters, one might type "left, left, left, left" and the other might type "right, right, right, right" but then a third motion detector might insert the word "not" into it so that it becomes, "left, left, left, not, left, not, left, left, left" or "right, right, right, not, right" creating a new message when the viewer glances across both units.

I anticipate needing to know something about "counters" within the code to keep track of how many solenoids have activated.
If any of this sounds interesting, and you could help check my code or something, let me know.

thanks,
blake
bbf3@cornell.edu

Comments