Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Multiple Button Inputs via Really Simple Binary Encoding - Newbie Question — Parallax Forums

Multiple Button Inputs via Really Simple Binary Encoding - Newbie Question

Rex RhinoRex Rhino Posts: 4
edited 2006-04-30 08:08 in BASIC Stamp
Hello, I am a newbie and not much of an electronics expert, so please forgive me if my question is a bit silly.

I want to interface a lot of momentary push buttons into a basic stamp... Lets say 64 buttons. None of these buttons will be pressed simultaniously (and they are only being used to trigger sound effects on a chipcorder chip, so it wouldn't be a disaster if some were pressed simultaniously... there is no highly critical industrial automation happening here or anything! lol.gif )

Can I simply wire one side of the button to ground, and then wire the other side to several input pins, to binary code each button? I realize that it would be a lot of work to connect each button, and that it would not function properly if buttons are pressed simultaniously... But is there anything fundamentally wrong with this approach?

Is there any other extremly simple way to accomplish this?

Thanks!
Rex Rhino

Comments

• Bruce BatesBruce Bates Posts: 3,045
    edited 2006-04-30 04:59
    Rex -

This is a very interesting, and not uncommon quandry for a newcomer. How about I start your thinking out, and you try to expand on it? I honestly can't think of a better way to learn about things like this.

The number you have chosen has a very interesting quality about it - 64. What is the square root of 64, and is it even?

How might you use this interesting quality to your advantage? HINT: Think in terms of 2 dimensions, or a matrix.

Homework: Investigate 8-bit Parallel In, Serial Out Shift Registers and ponder how they might be used in an application like this.