Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
World Of Stamps Project — Parallax Forums

World Of Stamps Project

Mike CollierMike Collier Posts: 25
edited 2006-05-05 13:12 in BASIC Stamp
Hi, not a technical question....

I am a windows developer, I build distributed systems. I have been looking for things to do with the Basic Stamp that are fun and push the envelope.

I have been thinking about a "World of stamps" project that uses my distributed computing experience to combine stamps from around the world.

Anyone participating would have a stamp connected (temp/perm whatever)·to their serial port and a service (screensaver?)·would run on their computer. The stamp hardware may include temp/ humidity/ light sensors but could include anything.

At any one time we could see·a picture of the world and a summary of the weather there. Clicking on a beacon on the map would toggle somebodies hardware etc etc. Could be far more invlolved this is just a quick outline.

I would provide all the software, I just need to know if anyone would want to join in? All you would need is your own hardware and an internet connection.

There should be some useful code left over at the end of it...

Cheers,
Mike

Comments

• IRobot2IRobot2 Posts: 164
    edited 2006-04-28 22:32
    ·
    Hi Mike,
    ·
    I think I understand what you are wanting to do. It sounds really neat to me. I am not quite for sure how many people would be willing to sacrifice a stamp and more importantly a port on their compy’ to do this for any great period of time though.
    ·
    What might be easier is to find a specific time, or even a day that you could rally people from across the world to connect their stamps and have them each process a (very) little bit of information to make an incredibly huge calculation (or something of the sort). This sounds really familiar to the SETI project that uses the idle time of your computer to help search for ET life ( http://www.seti.org/site/pp.asp?c=ktJ2J9MMIsE&b=179086 )