Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
New here - Just a few things — Parallax Forums

New here - Just a few things

AdamEAdamE Posts: 11
edited 2006-04-26 22:22 in Learn with BlocklyProp
Just thought I'd introduce myself and explain my situation for starters;

My names Adam, Ive just been selected to join the robotics team at my school. The main assignment is to program a Boe-Bot to travel through a maze and reach the endpoint within a time limit, the fastest one winning ofcourse.

As far as my programming experience goes, Im only 16 but I've been programming since I was about 9 years old. Im currently using Darkbasic Pro, www.darkbasicpro.com, an excellent version of BASIC.

Ive pretty much mastered the language (I know, there is no mastering a language, but you get what I mean) and can create almost anything my mind thnks up.

Ive just installed the main BASIC Stamp compiler/editor, and Im currently looking over some basic code snippets and methods of doing things. So far the language looks extremely similar to DarkBASIC's language (ofcourse they're both basic so that makes complete sense), so getting used to how things work shouldnt be too hard. My main problem is figuring out how it recievs the information from the Boe-Bot (how to make the Boe-Bot move/turn/stop, and how to obtain the distance to the walls infront, to the left, and to the right of the bot using the infra-red raycasting system). But I've been doing some research and it looks relatively simple, sending a certain charge to Pins will turn them ina certain direction at a certain speed is what I've been able to figure out so far.

Anyways, the due date for this thing is mid-May and I'm (as far as I know) the only programmer on the project. I've figured out all of the artificial intelligence needed to make this thing work and Im also working on creating a virtual simulation of the bot using the AI theories with Darkbasic Pro, just to see if there are any major problems I need to correct.