Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
transmit a value via RF transmitter to a PC — Parallax Forums

transmit a value via RF transmitter to a PC

dspeerdspeer Posts: 7
edited 2006-04-12 15:17 in BASIC Stamp
I have just started learning about the Stamp. For a project I need to be able to transmit a value via RF transmitter to a PC, do a database lookup and send another value back.

I am a complete beginner and have trouble finding anything about this. I imagine there will be a second stamp with a receiver connected via serial cable, but then how do I go from Serial input to database or even text file? There must be literature out there, but I can't find any.

Thanks in advance!

d.

Post Edited By Moderator (Chris Savage (Parallax)) : 4/11/2006 7:37:56 PM GMT

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2006-04-11 19:47
    On the PC Side you can connect the receiver to a serial port through a driver if it's one of out TTL level devices.· If you're using the EB500 there is a PC adapter (EB600).· In any event data is transmitted serially and you would need an application on the PC side expecting this data on the Serial Port.· Two such programs are linked below.

http://www.parallax.com/html_pages/downloads/software/software_stampDAQ.asp

http://www.parallax.com/html_pages/downloads/software/stamp_plot_pro_info.asp

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
  • Ken PierceKen Pierce Posts: 5
    edited 2006-04-12 05:48
    I'm in the same boat. Completely new to this but need to develop a similar device that can transmit a few data values to a pc, query a database, receive a few values and repeat. Basically a datalogging task. Any further info on this topic would be much appreciated.
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2006-04-12 14:26
    Ken,