Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Noob joining — Parallax Forums

Noob joining

MazdaMazda Posts: 5
edited 2006-04-04 00:18 in BASIC Stamp
Hi all,
I just bought a stamp, and I'm ready to start playing devil.gif

I'm pretty new to embedded controllers, but I program for a living, so hopefully· that will help with something.· Anyway, I learn best by trying to build something, so I figured I might as well make something I can use in my car project.

I'm in the middle of upgrading a kit car, and would like to use the stamp to perform various functions involving dash button operation, theft prevention and a basic display.

In short, I'll be :

reading a· tach signal, and various button activities,
controlling·up to 4 automotive relays,
displaying some stuff on a small LCD display,
and using a RFID tag.

There is a wealth of information here and generally on the web, so I've been doing a little reading on what I need.· Can someone tell me if I'm on the right path?

For driving the relays, I was thinking about using a H11B1 opto.· From what I saw, the only thing I need on that is a 330 ohm resistor on the +5 input line.

For reading the tach, could I use a 4N25 opto?· The source of the tach is a GM PCM tach output line.

For the rocker switches, all I need a pull down resistor, right?· Debounce through software?

The RFID and LCD should be direct hookups with no other components needed?

For power supply, would a LM7805 and a 220 microF capacitor be sufficient?

Thanks for the help.

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2006-04-03 18:37
    Hello,

·· Most of your connections sound right, except the Relay Driver.· I am not familiar with the· opto part # you mentioned, but the device driving the relay should be able to handle the current and back EMF from the device.· I have never seen an opto that could do this.· Here is an example Relay circuit we have.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support