Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
New to Stamp - Project questions — Parallax Forums

New to Stamp - Project questions

btutorbtutor Posts: 7
edited 2006-04-02 13:44 in BASIC Stamp
I am new to the Parallax product line.· And I'm trying to figure out if this system can be used for my project.

Project Summary:
I have 112,000 bytes of data - values between 1 to 8.
I need to process that data 1 byte at a time and turn on 1 of 8 motors for a brief period.
I have a 9th motor I need to turn on briefly after every 280th byte of data.
All motors need to be continuous rotation.
I may need 1 limit switch input to zero the system at startup.

Something like this:
REVERSE MOTOR9 UNTIL LIMITSWITCH1
FOR count1 = 1 TO 400
···· FOR count2 = 1 TO 280
········· GET val
········· IF val = 1 STEP MOTOR1
········· IF val = 2 STEP MOTOR2
········· ...etc...
········· IF VAL = 8 STEP MOTOR8
···· NEXT count2
···· STEP MOTOR9
NEXT count1

I think I can do this with:
Basic Stamp Discovery Kit #27807
9V Power Supply #750-00008
Parallax Servo Controller #28823···
7.5VDC 1 amp Power Supply #750-00009
9 Parallax Continous Rotation Servos #900-00008

Questions:
Do I have the right parts here?
Can I add either memory or some other data storage to this system that would store all that data (112,000 bytes)?
If not,·can I dynamically transmit the data to the stamp in smaller chunks from my PC as needed?
Would that data be sent via the serial/USB port or would I need to add either a Bluetooth or infrared module.
Does Parallax offer a simple contact switch I can use?

Thanks for any help you can offer.

Comments

• Bruce BatesBruce Bates Posts: 3,045
    edited 2006-04-01 19:33
    btutor -