Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Other Languages — Parallax Forums

Other Languages

SubterraneusSubterraneus Posts: 4
edited 2006-04-09 21:39 in BASIC Stamp
I've began to use the BASIC Stamp in class, and I've been a serious programmer for years. The fact that I have to use BASIC angers me and I'd just like to know if I can use any other languages, and how.

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2006-03-29 02:37
    I don't understand why using BASIC could anger someone, but if you prefer assembly language perhaps the SX Microcontroller would be more to your liking.· Or the Javelin Stamp (JAVA-based).

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
  • Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2006-03-29 02:37
    Not with the *BASIC* Stamp, no. If you like Java, you can use our Javelin module. If you use our SX micro, you can use assembly, BASIC (oops, that would make you angry), or C (with third-party products -- we're working on a C compiler but it's not ready yet). And when the Propeller is released, you'll have the opportunity to learn and pass judgement on a new language: Spin. See the Propeller forum for examples of Spin code.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    Applications Engineer, Parallax
  • SubterraneusSubterraneus Posts: 4
    edited 2006-03-29 02:56
    for one: I have such a problem with BASIC because it teaches such bad pragma (for the beginers in my class) and relative to other languages, it really sucks
    for another: So in short, I'm screwed for a while? or at least I'm what I think of as screwed...

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    @ARGV said the pirate

61f012e8ed8d437048760299871d42b7
    edited 2006-03-29 03:00