Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
New and need direction with a design project — Parallax Forums

New and need direction with a design project

darius_ndarius_n Posts: 6
edited 2006-04-06 18:54 in BASIC Stamp
Hello,

I'd like to apologize if this isn't in the right category, I just tonight came upon this site.

I've been directed towards this website from a university professor at McGill University in Montreal, Quebec, Canada. The reason I've been directed here is because I'm working on a design project for my engineering degree and it will involve the use of electronic components that she felt I could find alot of information on from this company / website, and I figured what better than to ask the community here.

I'm not very experienced with electronics beyond a basic circuits course, nor do I know much about all of these wonderful controllers and sensors that seem to be available from Parallax, but I'm hoping that people here can guide me in the right direction.

The design problem is the following:
Ten large machines are being used to gather crops, and often due to inexperienced operators and night conditions the machines collide with each other or other large obstacles and cause damage to the machines, thus rendering them inoperable until fixed. This costs alot of money to the machine owners.

The solution we're ( a collegue of mine and myself) are aiming for is a detection system that will warn the operators of large obstacles, or other machines in the near vincinity so that the operators can be more vigilant while operating the machines. We figured through limited discussion that the best way to do this is to set up a sort of infared sensor network on the machine that can detect when the machine is close or in a certain range of another large object and then light up a display pannel and having a tone sound off, thus warning the operator.