Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Can't get infrared detector to work — Parallax Forums

Can't get infrared detector to work

SSteveSSteve Posts: 808
edited 2006-03-25 19:07 in Learn with BlocklyProp
I just got the StampWorks kit and I've been going through the experiments. I'm having trouble with experiment #20. I'm assuming it's supposed to detect when the IR from the LED is blocked, but it acts like it's always seeing the IR. Even if I completely remove the IR LED, it still says "All Clear".

I think I have the LED connected correctly. (My background is in programming and I know very little (so far) about analog circuits.) I have the long lead connected to the resistor that goes to Pin 0. The short lead is connected to ground. I have the detector connected as shown in the diagram.

The program is working correctly. If I connect Pin 1 to ground, it shows "Intruder Alert!". With pin 1 connected to VDD it shows "All Clear".

So it seems like the Detector is always detecting IR but when I completely remove the LED from the circuit, it still always says "All Clear".

The thing that seems weird to me is that if I reverse the leads on the LED, the program always says "Intruder Alert!".

I'm stumped. Can anyone figure out what I'm doing wrong?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
OS-X: because making Unix user-friendly was easier than debugging Windows

Comments

• Steve JoblinSteve Joblin Posts: 784
    edited 2006-03-20 15:50
    Are you using fresh batteries? I have had funny things like this happen to me, and it always seems to get "fixed" when I replace the batteries...
  • SSteveSSteve Posts: 808
    edited 2006-03-20 17:25
    I'm not using batteries. The board is powered from a 12V adapter.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2006-03-20 17:57
    How are you connecting the LED?· Which lead goes where on the board?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support