Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Switching 4 Tools Along a Conveyor Belt — Parallax Forums

Switching 4 Tools Along a Conveyor Belt

finewoodfinewood Posts: 4
edited 2006-03-18 23:39 in BASIC Stamp
I am a cabinet shop owner. I am modifying an edgebander, adding tool stations. Normally I would use timer-relays (a total of 9) to actuate the tools. Recently I discovered the BS2 and believe it will provide a more elegant solution. I believe I need a BS2 and 2 each RC-4s. I am a novice on microcontrollers and cannot figure out the program. Can any of you guys help me?

Description of the Cycle
A conveyor belt grips one side of a cabinet panel and carries it down a track at a fixed speed; the minimum interval between the end of one panel and the front of the panel following is 3 seconds. Four individual power tools are located at different stations along the track; they perform machining operations on the panel as it passes their locations. I want to use the Basic Stamp to individually actuate 110 volt electro-pneumatic solenoids which will extend each of these tools against the panel as the front edge passes their station, then individually retract them as the rear edge of the panel passes their station.

Ahead of these four tool stations, there is a NO limit switch which closes when the front edge of the panel trips it down, then opens when the rear edge passes.

If I was using hardware, rather than a microcontroller, I would use 4 “on-delay” timer-relays, one for each of the tool stations, each started by the limit switch closing and individually adjusted. Then there need to be 4 “off-delay” timer-relays, started by the limit switch returning to its open position. Finally, there is another relay which actuates a pneumatic valve whenever tool #1 and/or tool #2 are actuated.

Definitions
SW1 is NO switch; it closes when a panel passes by it.
R1 is relay 1 which powers electrical coil of a pneumatic solenoid
R2 is relay 2 “ “ “ “ “ “
R3 is relay 3 “ “ “ “ “ “