Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Fuse? — Parallax Forums

Fuse?

saliksalik Posts: 9
edited 2006-03-17 07:13 in BASIC Stamp
Just as a safety precation should I put a fuse inbetween the battery and the stamp controller ? I don't want to fry the board in anyway. And if so what fuse should I use... its a Basic Stamp 1

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2006-03-16 02:58
    No fuse is needed...The BASIC Stamp won't draw more than about 55mA from the supply normally.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
  • saliksalik Posts: 9
    edited 2006-03-16 06:51
    now say i did some bad soldering... a fuse would stop the battery from supplying more than the 55 mA right ... i'm just a student and i don't really know how to solder too well... just incase
  • LoopyBytelooseLoopyByteloose Posts: 12,537
    edited 2006-03-16 08:27
    Salik,
    There are no stupid questions, but some answers can be doubtful.· Chris often doesn't have much time to explain as he is an employee.· Consider the following:

If you try to buy a less than a 100ma fuse, you will find two things.

1. Nearly impossible to locate any fuse in that small size [noparse][[/noparse]so someone is amused].
    2. Such small fuses cause a big voltage drop due to internal resistance, so you need a higher voltage supply.

Generally fuses are to protect people from shock and fire. Overload is usual when too much is put on a small wire. But, the BasicStamp is really way below that as the wire diameter [noparse][[/noparse]at 20 gauge] is comparatively huge.

In some cases,·fuse can provide immediate shut down when a motor is jammed.

An excellent alternative is a 'current limiting' device; usually a transistor or a voltage regulator that has been especially configured. These can handle small loads, but they do waste a lot of battery life.